What is this “lazy purl” / ” easy purl”?

June 10, 2009 at 8:49 pm (1)

I have never had  strong hands  In fact, I fail (!) the child grip strength tools when my hospital has health fairs..I still hold my pen in a funny way because my fingers grew tired when I was learning how to write

 Purling was such a challenge  I did not do well with it as a child of nine when taught the American Throw method Even with knit stitches, I had to poke the end of the needle each stitch to move it up making a red sore finger after any knitting so I put aside knitting 

Fast forward 40 years and I saw a friend knit continental. I  KNEW  I could do it She taught me and it was true.  I did  learn  TIme  went by and I took another lesson and the teacher said my purls were made crossed and that I did not do the stitch correctly  ( not my friend’s fault  – I just did not understand the lesson) The new teacher in her  30 minute lesson-taught me the RIGHT way (sigh) to do the purl and it was harder 

Too sad ! Then I read about Norwegian purl thinking .”OH, That is the name of the easy way I did it ..”

Nope — nice but not it

 Then I saw Annie M’s site and thought – “There it is (!!!!) and she is famous…  so I am not a DUMBOLINA ..”   ( haha)

I went back to it but this time understanding the part about the leading leg of the stitch   ahhhh  Now I know 3 ways to purl and can use all  It is SUCH a relief!!

If my weak hands can do it- anyone can!

Here is a video that will open doors for the easy/lazy purl whose other name 

is COMBINATION purl ( that is the name of the video)

Annie M unvented it and gave it legitimacy and unraveled how to make it work

and called it the Combination knitting  

   http://www.knittinghelp.com/videos/purl-stitch

Thanks to the knitting help site  They are FABULOUS

Look to the right  under  blog roll for  videos &  links for more info..

4 Comments

  1. Morgan said,

    I’m sorry…I followed the link, but I’m not sure now which video it is you meant for us to watch? None of them are called the easy/lazy purl…?

  2. gulfcoastgal said,

    My apologies Annie Modesitt unvented this stitch and made it legit Check out her site as well On the link in the above post look for Combination purl
    Annie M named it and has also called it the lazy purl because it takes such little effort but one has to mind where the leading leg is to make it work
    I have direct links to purl videos on the side under Blogroll as well
    take care

  3. Diana Somerville said,

    Just a little correction.
    Ms. Annie Modesitt did not invent the combination knitting or in this case “lazy purl”. She maybe popularized it in USA.
    Whole generations of knitters in Eastern Europe knit this way. I learned from my grandma and had no clue this kind of knitting was strange, as this was the only way I knew and everybody in my family knitted this way… It is super fast and easy on your hands.
    Good luck,
    Diana Somerville

    • gulfcoastgal said,

      many thanks for your kind info Elizabeth zimmerman used the phrase UNVENT since she felt anything her hands had discovered had probably been discovered by knitters throughout history before her so I tried to use her phrase unvent I appreciate your information !

Leave a Reply

